Shrimp Scampi (I did it My Way…)

Wow, it’s been quite some time since the last time I posted a dish here :). I have been busy filleting and bottling my gourmet tuyo. Yes, I have decided to slowly give it a push to have an extra income.

Anyway,  I bought shrimp the other day with the thought of making a Lemony Shrimp Scampi Pasta dish.  However,  laziness took over me and I forgot about it.

While checking the fridge earlier, I saw the shrimp I bought and just thought of making shrimp scampi instead. I researched for the recipe which is actually simple. But, I don’t have white wine, only Xiaoxing Wine (Chinese Cooking Wine). I did have butter and lots of garlic, and I also saw a small packet of pineapple tidbits and some red chilies 🙂

So, instead of following the classic shrimp scampi recipe, I just whipped up my own 🙂 and it didn’t fail my taste buds at all.

The Kitchen Misfit’s Shrimp Scampi

500 gms shrimps, deveined
1 head garlic, minced
3 tbsps butter
red chilies, chopped
1/3 cup pineapple tidbits
1/8 cup Xiaoxing wine
salt & pepper
1 tsp chopped cilantro

  1. Heat butter with a little oil in pan. Adding oil to the butter will prevent the butter from burning in the pan.
  2. Saute the garlic and chili until fragrant.
  3. Add in the shrimp, Xiaoxing wine, and pineapple tidbits. Cook them just long enough that the shrimps turn pink all over.
  4. Add the salt and pepper and turn off the heat.
  5. Garnish with the chopped cilantro before serving.

Serve with steamed rice and Malaysian sambal as dipping sauce.

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

