Baked Bangus (Milkfish)


I bought a pre-packed Bangus back fillet last week without really giving much thought on what to do about it.  I just thought that it would be nice to have a bangus dish sans those tiny bones that really deter me from eating bangus. Besides, husband and I have decided to go back to eating veggies and fish so I guess that triggered the impulse to buy.

This morning, I decided to cook the Bangus. I decided to just bake it since I am kind of lazy thinking of the recipes that a bangus fillet would go well with.

Husband was so impressed with the outcome and I’m glad that even without exact measurements, I was able to nail it, yey!!!

So, here’s the recipe:

500 gms bangus back fillet

kalamansi juice (around 6 small pcs)

2 tomatoes, cubed

1 medium size onion, chopped 

ginger, chopped finely (about 2 thumbsize)

soy sauce (about 2 tbsp)

salt

pepper

dried rosemary

olive oil (just a drizzle, optional)

wedge of lemon (optional)

How to:

Pre-heat the oven at 175 C

Pat dry the bangus fillet and place on an ovenproof dish, flesh facing up.

Rub with the soya sauce, salt, pepper, and dried rosemary leaves.

In a separate bowl, mix the rest of the ingredients except the olive oil.

Spread the mixture on the bangus evenly. Drizzle with olive oil. If you have a wedge of lemon, place it at the center of the dish.

Bake in the oven for 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

