Tofu Binagoongan

Hubby and I am trying to slowly shy away from pork  lately and replaces pork with tofu everytime there is a need for it in a recipe.

For my dinner tonight,  I checked the fridge and guess what I saw???? Of course, TOFU, hahaha!!!  I have a good supplier of firm, quality tofu.  And since I am craving for binagoongan, I thought of giving it a twist by using tofu instead of pork.

tofubinagoongan1

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

2 blocks of firm tofu, cubed, fried, set aside

2 pcs of medium sized onion, sliced

2 pcs of medium sized tomatoes, sliced

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 tbsps cooking oil

1/2 cup bagoong (I used my sister’s sauteed shrimp)

splash of rice vinegar (or any type of vinegar of your choice)

sugar to taste (depends on your palate and tolerance for sweetness)

green chili sliced

How to:

  1. Saute the onion, garlic, chili, and tomatoes in the cooking oil until the onions become translucent, the tomatoes cooked, the chili soft, and the aroma of the garlic diffuses.
  2. Add in the bagoong, splash of vinegar, and sugar. Saute for additional 3 to 5 minutes (the bagoong has been pre-cooked).
  3. Add in the fried cubed tofu.
  4. Cook for additional 1 or 2 minutes.
  5. Serve with rice.

tofubinagoongan2

It’s Fast, Furiously appetizing (at least for me!), and on the Healthier side 🙂

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

